So this is it. My last blog of the semester. Gather some Kleenex and Ben & Jerry’s.  

Let’s journey back in time for a moment, back to January 27 of this year, when I wrote my first blog of the semester. I talked about my journey to MU from Florida (where I will drive back to on Thursday) and my experiences in my journalism classes.

I figured that J2150 would be my most important class in the J-School, and, while I’m not sure I want to make that kind of value judgement now (they are all important in their own way), I can say it was my favorite journalism class of the four I have taken. J2150 has been fun and interesting and not a class I dread going to late in the afternoon. A general rule of thumb for me is that if I do not dread the class, it has to be good! And J2150 was certainly a good class.

Aside from having fun, I’ve learned a lot. I’ve learned how to use Final Cut, learned how to improvise, learned how to blog, learned how to tweet (more like how not to tweet), and learned how to build a website, among other things. J2150 is really a sampling of everything and I look forward to delving deeper into each element as I move further into the J-School.

Assuming I move further that is. I still have to pass Spanish. Cruzas tus dedos!

I think one of the things I liked most about J2150 as compared to, say, J2100, was the relative latitude we had in reporting. This is not to say it was a free-for-all, of course we had to maintain journalistic standards and ethics, but being able to use MU sources, for example, and not filling out those godforsaken source sheets was nice and allowed me to put more into the story itself, rather than the ancillary details.  

That being said, I still had issues with source fatigue (as mentioned in my first blog), but it was not quite as bad. I can understand why we have such a hard time as journalism students; I am just one of hundreds of students (and three newspapers, and three television stations, and so on) scrounging around this small town for scoops. I, as a student, am pretty much at the bottom of that pecking order, so I just get the scraps. But as a journalist, sometimes you have to make due with scraps. I would like to think that I turned said scraps into something whole, something substantial. 

Of course, what’s substance without style? I added some of that too, and I think it showed in the final project, where I found an awesome template for our website on Wix and customized it to suit our project’s needs. I was so happy with how our project turned out, and it was great working with Abbey and Andrew, who each made fantastic contributions to it. 

All in all, it was a blast. I had awesome classmates and an awesome instructor in Chaz Maddi who made the class into what it was. 

Here’s to junior year! 

